Home Page

North Baddesley Infant School

Growing together, learning for life

Early Years Foundation Stage (EYFS)

Children in our Nursery and Reception classes experience the Early Years Foundation Stage (EYFS), the statutory framework for which sets the standards that all early years providers must meet to ensure that children learn and develop well and are kept healthy and safe.


The Seven Areas of Learning & Development


The EYFS curriculum is split into seven areas of learning and development, all of which are important and inter-connected. Three of these areas, called the Prime Areas, are of particular importance for developing children’s relationships with themselves and others as well as igniting their curiosity and enthusiasm for learning, while the remaining four, the Specific Areas, help children to strengthen and apply what they have learnt from the Prime Areas. Each area has a statutory Educational Programme that we follow. These are:



The EYFS Curriculum at NBIS


It is up to individual schools how to put the Educational Programmes into practice, and while we recognise and champion the value of the EYFS in its own right, we also acknowledge that we must prepare children for the next stage of their education journey.


We are excited to be putting together a bespoke curriculum that takes into account these Educational Programmes, key aspects of child development and also what we are trying to achieve as a school. For more information about our school's overall vision and values, please click this link.


We aim to have this curriculum ready for September 2022. In the meantime, for subject-specific curriculum content, beyond the scope of the Educational Programmes, please follow this link.

Characteristics of Effective Learning


The above Educational Programmes are all underpinned by the Characteristics of Effective Learning, which take into account desired traits that children should acquire to equip themselves for lifelong learning. These are: