Home Page

North Baddesley Infant School

Growing together, learning for life

Early Years Foundation Stage

Children in Year R experience the final stages of the Early Years Foundation Stage Curriculum, which they will have encountered from birth. While we are privileged to be the first stop on their school journey, we are actually the culmination of 5 years worth of fundamental learning. With us, children work towards achieving Early Learning Goals (ELGs) in seven areas of learning as well as Characteristics of Effective Learning (CoEL).

The Seven Areas of Learning & Development


The EYFS curriculum is split into seven areas of learning and development, all of which are important and inter-connected. Three of these areas, called the Prime Areas, are of particular importance for developing children’s relationships with themselves and others as well as igniting their curiosity and enthusiasm for learning, while the remaining four, the Specific Areas, help children to strengthen and apply what they have learnt from the Prime Areas.


We use the non-statutory document, Development Matters, to guide our planning and provision. More details about each area can be found in the links below.

The Prime Areas

The Specific Areas

Characteristics of Effective Learning