Home Page

North Baddesley Infant School

Growing together, learning for life

In advance of the January 2022 opening of our new term-time only nursery setting, we are hosting a drop-in session for any parents/carers who are interested in finding out more about our provision. Please feel free to come along to our Nursery building in the school playground on Monday 13th December between 3.30pm and 5pm, where we will be happy to show you around and answer any questions you may have!


Children in Year R experience the final stages of the Early Years Foundation Stage Curriculum *, which they will have encountered from birth. While we are privileged to be the first stop on their school journey, we are actually the culmination of 5 years worth of fundamental learning. With us, children work towards achieving Early Learning Goals (ELGs) in seven areas of learning as well as Characteristics of Effective Learning (CoEL).


*A new, revised curriculum is due to take effect from September 2021. Please keep checking our website for future updates.

The Seven Areas of Learning & Development


The EYFS curriculum is split into seven areas of learning and development, all of which are important and inter-connected. Three of these areas, called the Prime Areas, are of particular importance for developing children’s relationships with themselves and others as well as igniting their curiosity and enthusiasm for learning, while the remaining four, the Specific Areas, help children to strengthen and apply what they have learnt from the Prime Areas. 


The EYFS curriculum, entitled Development Matters, designates seven areas of learning which children should encounter in educational settings from birth to five. Three of these areas, the Prime Areas, underpin everything in the Early Years, while the four others, the Specific Areas, help children to strengthen and apply the prime areas. Please use the links below to explore these areas in more detail.

The Prime Areas

The Specific Areas

Additional NBIS-specific Area


Although the new EYFS curriculum does not refer specifically to children's use of technology, at North Baddesley Infant School we believe our provision should be at least as ambitious as the statutory guidance. So, we have included elements of computing in units of work designed to prepare pupils for learning in Key Stage One, where children's computing knowledge and skills is statutorily assessed. For more information on how computing skills are taught in Year R, please look at the following document:

Characteristics of Effective Learning